TEDxFulbrightDublin is envisioned, orchestrated, and driven by volunteer leaders. The team takes the global nature of the Fulbright program literally, as members are currently located across two continents. The event is supported by the Fulbright Commission of Ireland, the US Embassy and the Irish Research Council. Other financial support stems from public and corporate partners which seek to uphold the mission of the Fulbright program and further develop the alumni base for continuous progress.

Oibrithe deonacha a chruthaigh, a d’eagraigh agus a sheol TEDxFulbrightDublin. Is mór ag an bhfoireann an gné dhomhanda de chlár Fulbright, agus tá na baill iad féin scaipthe idir dháilchríoch. Tugann Comisiún Fulbright na hÉireann, Ambasáid na Stát Aontaithe agus an Chomhairle Éireann Um Thaighde, tacaíocht don ócáid seo. Is ó chomhpháirithe poiblí agus corparáideacha a eascraíonn an chuid eile den tacaíocht airgeadais- compháirithe iad seo a bhfuil sé i gceist acu seasamh le haidhmeanna chlár Fulbright agus cur le gréasán na n-iarscoláirí ar mhaithe le forbairt leanúnach.

Lorcan Walsh


Lorcan Walsh, Organiser and Licence Holder

Lorcan is a postdoctoral research fellow and biomedical engineer specialising in developing technological interventions to support active and healthy ageing. He is the founder and licence holder for TEDxFulbrightDublin, and founder of the Irish Fulbright Researchers’ Mentoring Network.




Joanne Davidson, Organiser

Originally from Chicago, Illinois, Joanne has a B.A. in Political Science and Peace Studies from the University of Notre Dame and a M.Sc. in Environmental Science from Trinity College Dublin. She is the Communications Manager for the Fulbright Commission as well as the EducationUSA Advisor.


Colleen Dube


Colleen Dube, Steering Committee Member

Born in Connecticut, Colleen received a Bachelor of Arts in American Studies and Art History from Drew University, a Masters in Philosophy in Irish Studies from NUIG, and a MBA from the Michael Smurfit School of Business at UCD. She is the Executive Director of the Fulbright Commission in Ireland.

Eucharia Meehan


Eucharia Meehan, Steering Committee Member

Dr. Eucharia Meehan is the Director of the Irish Research Council. Its mission is to enable and sustain a vibrant and creative research community in Ireland. The Council supports excellent research and scholarship within, and between, all disciplines for the benefit of society, the economy, and the global knowledge pool.


Pippa Halley


Pippa Halley, Steering Committee Member

Pippa is the Irish Fulbright Awards Program Manager and manages the Fulbright Mentoring Network. She has a BA in Art History and Italian from Trinity College Dublin, a Postgraduate Diploma in Public Relations from the Fitzwilliam Institute and is currently completing a M.Sc. in Organisational Behaviour at Dublin City University.


Sonya McGuinness


Sonya McGuinness, Steering Committee Member

Sonya is the U.S. Program Manager for the Fulbright Commission and has been with the Commission since 2002., Sonya has a B.A. from University College Dublin and an H.Dip. in Business and Information Technology from UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate School of Business.


Ronan Doherty



Rónán Ó Dochartaigh, Designer

Rónán is a Ph.D. candidate at the Department of Modern Irish (Nua-Ghaeilge) in the National University of Ireland, Maynooth. He is researching the role of literature in the language learning process and in the development of analytical skills. Ronan was a Fulbright FLTA Irish language instructor at the University of Notre Dame, USA, during the 2011-2012 academic year. He also works as a self-employed graphic and web designer with both public and private sector clients.

The TEDxFulbrightDublin 2014 Volunteers

Communications Volunteers

Owen Barnes, Derek Dunne, Sarah Furgatch, Julie Markham, Jon-Michael Poff

General Administration and Participant Experience Volunteers

Rebekah Carpio, Jennifer Cohen, Andrew Flynn, Aine Mahon, Verona Ni Dhrisceoil, Ciaran Pollard

Poster Volunteers

Sarah Coleman, Andrea Joseph

Stage Design Volunteers

Aimee Carton, Louise Murphy, Emily Strong,

Technical Support Volunteers

Shane Lynn, Ankit Medhekar, Fionn Ruadh

Translation Volunteers

Siobhra Aiken, Rhona Carroll, Tamara Mielke, Lisa Nic an Bhreithimh, Veronica Ni Drisceoil, Oisin O Duinn, Aline Sandouk